Français
twitterfacebook
Tri-Art
book cover

Rhéni Tauchid's New Acrylics Book

The New Acrylics Essential Sourcebook has been designed as a sequel to The New Acrylics. This installment goes further into the subject of working with modern acrylic paints, exploring technology and technique. Rather than being a recipe book to producing works limited by style or composition, this book will provide valuable resources for artists looking to improve their process and materials knowledge vocabulary. This is a frame of reference that will appeal and be useful to professional artists, but projects information in a clear and comprehensive manner that will make sense to beginners as well. Complex in its diversity and scope, is a serviceable guidebook to gaining mastery of the acrylic medium.

As with its predecessor, this book presents an objective springboard for techniques without straying into dictating style or theme. It explores detailed working qualities of the various paint formats, pigments and mediums in a ways that can be applied to a variety of personal styles.

There is great emphasis on the components of the acrylic paint family, from their basic chemistry to new developments. Although there are some more radical application suggestions, the primary focus of the book leans towards materials detail with an emphasis on defining and expanding acrylic application techniques. There is a marked emphasis on responsible materials use in the studio and the classroom, providing tips on how to remain environmentally conscious while working with these materials. A conversation with conservation scientists also provides a look on the future of acrylics, and how to protect and maintain your paintings.

The New Acrylics Essential Sourcebook is a sophisticated, visually lush resource intended to inspire and inform in equal measure.

Rheni's book at Random House

Read the review from About.com: Painting

Product Details

Title:
Paperback: 192 pages
Publisher: Watson-Guptill (July 14, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0823099261
ISBN-13: 978-0823099269
Product Dimensions: 25.4 x 21.2 x 1.4 cm (10 x 8.4 x 0.6 inches)
Shipping Weight: 663 g (1.5 pounds)


book cover

BOOK SYNOPSIS: THE NEW ACRYLICS

Rhéni Tauchid, painter and materials consultant at local cutting edge acrylic paint manufacturers, Tri-Art Mfg. Inc., has written an inspiring, slick and colorful book on working with modern acrylic paints.

THE NEW ACRYLICS: Complete Guide To The New Generation Of Acrylic Paint (Watson-Guptill Publications, New York, NY. February 2005) is not a book about how to paint or what to paint. It is an expansive look at the character of acrylic paints. There are no still-lives, landscapes or figure studies in this book. The emphasis is on how these paints behaves and how to manipulate them, encouraging the acrylic user to work with the material, and through that understanding, generate their own works of art.

Whereas most other books on the subject appeal to those who are specifically interested or adept at painting, this book will inspire even the most creatively challenged to give acrylics a go, as each of the techniques shown within can be applied to the simplest or the most complex of artistic expression. Interspersed throughout the book, as glowing examples of acrylic art, are artworks produced by up and coming primarily contemporary artists.

Becoming familiar with one's tools is paramount to the act of effective, successful creation. As a chef must know, intimately, the food with which she cooks, a painter should also be as well informed as possible with paint in order to use it with proficiency. Too many painters (at every level) use their tools blind, knowing very little beyond their basic properties.

Not too heavy on the technical data, THE NEW ACRYLICS informs through clear photographs, uncomplicated processes and succinct text. Concise, lucid and compact, this book is unencumbered by superfluous information and explanation of techniques and materials outside of their subject matter.

Each of the step-by-step segments are pared down to a few easy steps, and the project themselves kept as elementary as possible in order to best illustrate each process without putting any emphasis on style, and therefore suit every level of expertise. Every process shown is a suggestion, or an example of a method in which to use the material, rather than a definitive pronouncement of technique.

This book is a tool aimed at inspiring improvisation with a material that is evolving and revolutionizing the way we perceive and use paint.

THE NEW ACRYLICS is suitable for artists and craftsmen at any level. Not necessarily due to the how-to aspect, and technique, but for technical information and new developments of a medium that is very new to the art world and still widely misunderstood and under-appreciated.

As materials consultant and part of Tri-Art's product development team, Ms. Tauchid has a unique and thorough understanding of the material from both the painters and manufacturers point of view. Graphic designer and photographer Jonathan Sugarman produced all photographs for this book.

Editorial Review on THE NEW ACRYLICS

"The acrylics of today have grown into the most adaptable art material of the modern age. Focusing on a popular art medium that has been around for over 50 years, The New Acrylics illustrates how artists can create lush textures, color, and luster with the modern acrylics readily available in any art supply store. These are nontoxic, environmentally sound, and exist in the most dazzling array of chemical formats-from the most fluid to the highly viscous. Not only do artists paint with acrylics these days, they can create rich metallic effects, or even 3-dimensional sculptures.

Traditional technique based books on acrylics cover traditional methods of painting. However, The New Acrylics is geared toward more non-conventional ways in which to manipulate modern-day acrylics, and demonstrates new applications such as glazing, textured effects, soft sculpture effects, or staining, thus reinventing the old way of handling acrylics, and revealing a fabulous new artistic medium.

The underlying theme of this dazzling and sophisticated book is to encourage artists to interpret and handle acrylic paints in a vibrant, fresh, and above all, individualistic style."

Product Details

Title: New Acrylics, The: Complete Guide to the New Generation of Acrylic Paints
Paperback: 160 pages
320 color illustrations

First printing: February 2005
Publisher: Watson-Guptill Publications, New York, NY
ISBN: 0-8230-3159-4
US $24.95 CND $36.95

Dimensions: 10.5" x 8.5" x 0.4" (27 x 22 x 1cm)
Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds (0.7 Kilos)


book cover

*NEW!* German Edition

November 2007
The German language edition of The New Acrylics has been released!

Die Neuen Acrylfarben
Published by Editions M. Fischer

Up to the minute news!

Retailer Information

NEW Finest Quality Acrylic Videos!

The New Acrylics Books

English
twitterfacebook
Tri-Art
book cover

Le nouveau livre sur les peintures acryliques de Rhéni Tauchid

Le livre « The New Acrylics Essential Sourcebook » a été conçu comme une suite au livre « The New Acrylics ». Cette nouvelle tranche entre dans les détails du travail avec les peintures acryliques modernes, explorant la technologie et les techniques. Au lieu d’être simplement un livre de recettes sur la production de travaux limités par le style ou la composition, ce livre fournira des ressources précieuses pour les artistes intéressés à améliorer leurs procédés et leur vocabulaire en connaissance des matériaux. Il s’agit d’un cadre de référence qui plaira aux artistes professionnels et leur sera utile, mais qui aura aussi du sens pour les débutants en présentant des renseignements de manière claire et compréhensive. Complexe dans sa diversité et sa portée, il s’agit d’un guide utilisable pour atteindre une maîtrise du médium des peintures acryliques.

Comme son prédécesseur, ce livre présente un tremplin objectif concernant les techniques sans imposer un style ou un thème. Il explore les qualités de travail détaillées de divers formats de peinture, des pigments et des médiums de manière à pouvoir les appliquer à une variété de styles individuels.

Une attention particulière est portée sur les composants de la famille des peintures acryliques, depuis leur composition chimique de base jusqu’aux nouveaux développements. Même si quelques suggestions pour des applications plus radicales sont présentées, le thème central du livre se penche plutôt sur les détails des matériaux en accordant une importance particulière à la définition et à l’expansion des techniques d’application des peintures acryliques. Un intérêt marqué est porté à l’utilisation responsable des matériaux dans l’atelier et la salle de classe, fournissant des astuces sur la façon d’être sensibilisé à l’environnement en travaillant avec ces matériaux. Un entretien avec des scientifiques en conservation fournit aussi un regard sur l’avenir des peintures acryliques, et sur la façon de protéger et de conserver vos peintures.

Le livre « The New Acrylics Essential Sourcebook » est une ressource de haute gamme à présentation visuelle vibrante, qui vise à inspirer et à informer le lecteur.

Le livre de Rheni à Random House

Lisez la critique du livre sur About.com : Painting

Product Details

Title:
Paperback: 192 pages
Publisher: Watson-Guptill (July 14, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0823099261
ISBN-13: 978-0823099269
Product Dimensions: 25.4 x 21.2 x 1.4 cm (10 x 8.4 x 0.6 inches)
Shipping Weight: 663 g (1.5 pounds)


SOMMAIRE DU LIVRE: THE NEW ACRYLICS

Rhéni Tauchid, peintre et consultant en matériaux à l’entreprise de peinture acrylique d’avant-garde locale, Tri-Art Mfg. Inc., a rédigé un livre inspirant, de luxe et coloré sur la façon de travailler avec les peintures acrylique modernes.

THE NEW ACRYLICS : Complete Guide To The New Generation Of Acrylic Paint (Watson-Guptill Publications, New York, NY. février 2005) n’est pas un livre sur la façon de peindre ni sur les sujets à peindre. C’est un regard expansif sur les propriétés des peintures acrylique. Il n’y a pas de natures mortes, ni paysages, ni études du corps humain dans ce livre. La priorité est accordée à la façon dont se comportent ces peintures et à la façon de les manipuler tout en encourageant l’utilisateur de la peinture acrylique à travailler avec ce matériel et, grâce à sa compréhension du produit, à créer ses propres oeuvres d’art.

Alors que la majorité des autres livres sur le sujet attirent les personnes spécifiquement intéressées par la peinture ou ses adeptes, ce livre inspirera même les personnes faibles en créativité essayer les peintures acryliques puisque toutes les techniques démontrées dans le livre s’appliquent aussi bien à l’expression artistique la plus simple qu’à la plus complexe. Disséminés dans le livre, comme exemples concrets de l’art de la peinture acrylique, il y a des ?uvres d’art créées principalement par des artistes contemporains entreprenants.

Se familiariser avec ses outils est primordial à l’acte de création efficace et réussi d’une personne. De même qu’un chef doit connaître intimement les aliments avec lesquels il cuisine, un peintre doit également être aussi bien renseigné que possible sur la peinture afin de l’utiliser avec maîtrise. Trop de peintres (de tous les niveaux) utilisent leurs outils aveuglément, ne connaissant que très peu au-delà de leurs propriétés de base.

Sans s’attarder sur les données techniques, le livre « THE NEW ACRYLICS » informe le lecteur au moyen de photographies claires, de procédés simples et de texte succinct. Concis, lucide et compact, ce livre ne contient aucun renseignement superflu, ni explications de techniques et de matériaux en dehors de la question visée.

Chaque segment point par point est simplifié en quelques étapes et les projets sont aussi élémentaires que possible afin d’illustrer au mieux chaque procédé, sans mettre le style en évidence, et par conséquent convenir à tous les niveaux d’expertise. Chaque procédé illustré est une suggestion ou un exemple d’une méthode où utiliser le matériel au lieu d’une prise de position formelle de la technique.

Il s’agit d’un outil qui vise à suggérer l’improvisation avec un matériel qui ne cesse d’évoluer et à révolutionner la manière que nous percevons et utilisons la peinture.

Le livre « THE NEW ACRYLICS » convient aux artistes et aux artisans de tous les niveaux ; non pas en raison de l’aspect de la marche à suivre et de la technique, mais en raison des renseignements techniques et des nouveaux développements d’un médium très récent dans le monde artistique et largement incompris et sous-estimé.

En tant que consultant en matériaux et membre de l’équipe de développement des produits de l’entreprise Tri-Art, Mme Tauchid possède une connaissance unique et approfondie du matériel autant du point de vue des peintres que de celui des fabricants. Le concepteur graphique et photographe Jonathan Sugarman a produit toutes les photographies du livre.

Lettres à la rédaction au sujet du livre « THE NEW ACRYLICS »

« Les peintures acryliques d’aujourd’hui sont devenues le matériel artistique le plus adaptable de l’âge moderne. Ciblant un médium artistique populaire présent depuis plus de 50 ans, le livre «The New Acrylics » illustre comment les artistes peuvent créer des textures, des couleurs et des lustres exubérants avec les peintures acrylique aisément disponibles dans tous les magasins de fournitures artistiques. Ces peintures sont non toxiques, écologiques et elles existent dans un ensemble éblouissant de formats chimiques, depuis la consistance la plus fluide jusqu’à celle à forte teneur en viscosité. De nos jours, non seulement les artistes peignent avec les peintures acryliques, mais ils peuvent également créer de riches effets métalliques ou même des sculptures tridimensionnelles.

Les livres basés sur la technique traditionnelle sur les peintures acryliques traitent des méthodes traditionnelles de peinture. Cependant, le «The New Acrylics » est axé sur les façons non traditionnelles de manipulation des peintures acryliques modernes et démontre de nouvelles applications comme le glacis, les effets texturés, les effets de sculpture souple ou la coloration, réinventant ainsi l’ancienne tradition de manipulation des peintures acryliques et découvrant un fabuleux nouveau médium artistique.

Le thème sous-jacent de ce livre éblouissant et sophistiqué est d’encourager les artistes à interpréter et à manipuler les peintures acryliques dans un style vibrant, nouveau et par dessous tout individuel. »

Détails du produit

Titre: New Acrylics, The: Complete Guide to the New Generation of Acrylic Paints
Livre à couverture souple: 160 pages
320 illustrations en couleur

Première édition : février 2005
Maison d’édition : Watson-Guptill Publications, New York, NY
ISBN: 0-8230-3159-4
24,95 $ US 36,95 $ CAN

Dimensions : 10,5 po sur 8,5 po sur 0,4 po (27 cm sur 22 cm sur 1 cm)
Poids à l’expédition : 1,5 lb (0,7 kg)


book cover

*NOUVEAU* Édition allemande

Novembre 2007
Lancement de l’édition allemande du livre « The New Acrylics »!


Die Neuen Acrylfarben
  Publié par les Editions M. Fischer

Nouvelles à la minue

Informations Revendeurs

Tri-Art et l’environnement

'The New Acrylics' Livres